Where Legends Are Made

UA Again Recognized as a Top Producing Institution for Fulbright U.S. Student Program

Once again, UA has been recognized as a leader in international education – the University is a top producing institution for Fulbright U.S. Student Awards, according to The Chronicle of Higher Education. UA remains an influential and powerful institution that influences the world, delivering a pathway for its students to achieve academic success and learn first-hand about the world.

Fifteen of 47 UA applicants received the award for 2017–2018, one of the highest winning percentages in the nation. This is the second time in the past three years UA has been recognized as a top Fulbright U.S. Student Program producer.

“Our record success in placing students in the Fulbright U.S. Student Program demonstrates the far-reaching international scope of our excellent academic programs and the high value of a University of Alabama education,” said Dr. Kevin Whitaker, UA provost. “We continue to take pride in the many excellent and promising young people who choose UA for their academic studies.”

The Fulbright U.S. Student Program offers grants for independent study and research and for English teaching assistantships overseas. The highly competitive program selects approximately 1,500 award recipients from more than 10,000 applicants each year.

Ten UA graduates won awards as teaching assistants, and five UA graduates received Fulbright awards for research and study for the 2017–2018 academic year. They will gain confidence in established programs that heighten intercultural awareness throughout the world.

“It is an honor for UA to be listed as a top producer in the U.S. Student Fulbright competition,” said Dr. Teresa Wise, associate provost for international education and global outreach. “The Fulbright Program provides life-changing opportunities and experiences for our students.”

University of Alabama graduates serving abroad on Fulbright Awards are Ruth Bishop (Colombia), Erica Boden (Bulgaria), Benjamin Canady (South Korea), Kathryn “Katie” Cater (Poland), Kelsey Daugherty (Germany), Brittany Groves (Germany), Jonathan Joyner (Sri Lanka), Jackson Knappen (Spain), Alexandra LeViness (Germany), Julia Quan (Macedonia), Charlotte Sheridan (Jordan), Ann Varnedoe (Spain), Sarah Dylan Walker (Macau), Kevin Ryan Williams (United Kingdom) and Emily Zapinski (Malaysia).